Global Settings

Designer Global Settings are providing essential settings to all users.

Designer Admin Rights Required

Settings

Designer provides an easy way to configure Global Settings impacting all users. To access the Global Settings area click the 3-lines menu (hamburger) and select Settings. This option is only visible for Designer Admins!

4de0c71-Designer_Global_Settings_Menu

All Settings have a short description as part of their header to provide a better understanding.

The Global Settings are divided into the following sections:

General Settings

Key features of the Designer application can be configured here.

Designer Global Settings

Designer General Settings 

Block Approved Diagram

Once a Diagram has been approved, it's not possible to edit and save the Diagram. Create a clone of the Diagram to further iterate. 

Versioning of Approved Diagrams

Designer supports versioning of approved and non-approved diagrams automatically. You can distinguish between different version on the same Diagram. Switch off this option to use the default feature providing higher flexibility.

Create preview image of diagram

This feature was originally build to create a pictogram of the Diagram in the x_inpgh_des_diagrams table for preview purposes. With Version 5.0 Designer provides live previews of the Diagram.

Quicker Saving

Deactivating this feature will save the Diagram faster! 

Automatic Zoom

Sets the zoom factor automatically to make the Diagram fit to the screen.

Auto Checkout Time

Time in hours to checkin the Diagram automatically. This feature is useful to prevent people to block editing by other users. Set the value to 0 to deactivate the automatic checkin.

Autosave Time

The Autosave option needs to be activated by the user to automatically save the Diagram after the set minutes.

Export Image scale

The Export Image scale will set the default resolution for all PNG exports. A higher percentage will create files with higher resolution and bigger file size.

Good Practice

A 200% scale will provide a sufficient resolution for screen and print representation for small to medium size Diagrams. The scale can be changed by the user for each export.

 

Commit Settings

Commit related options are configured here.

Designer Global Settings - Commit

Application Cross-Scope Privileges

Use the hyperlinked text within the Settings page blue information box to quickly open the ServiceNow table to set the cross-scope privileges.

Commit Duplicate Elements

By default, Designer will check if an Element is a duplicate based on the "Display Name" settings in the Class Definitions form. Switch this option on to allow Designer to commit duplicate elements. 

Commit Duplicate Relationships

By default, Designer will check, if a Relationship is a duplicate based on the relationship type and the relationship fields defined. Switch this option on to allow Designer to commit duplicate relationships, too.
 
Auto commit after final approval

Activate this setting to automatically Commit all Elements & Relationships where the appropriate CREATE Application Cross-Scope privileges are set. All other Elements will be ignored by ServiceNow and will not be created in the respective tables.

Manually Committing Elements & Relationships

Be aware, that the Auto commit can be bypassed by any user being part of the "Designer Commit" Group/role.

 

Approvals Settings
This section configures the workflow approval steps and options. Designer Global Settings - Approvals

Multiuser approval

Activating the multiuser approval option will require all assigned users e.g. all contributors, all group members of the Design Assessment Group / Architecture Committee to approve, before the next workflow step is initiated.

Contributor review

This setting enables the Contributor review workflow step, where selected Contributor(s) perform the approval. See further details here: Approval Workflow  

Select the checkbox next to it to allow multiuser approval.

Assessment review

Activate this option to enable the second step of the workflow, which is performed by the group members of the Design Assessment Group. See further details here: Approval Workflow
Select the checkbox next to it to allow multiuser approval.

Architecture review

Disabling the Architecture review workflow step will disable all other steps. Enable the Architecture review to drive the final approval of a Diagram by the Architecture Committee Group members. See further details here: Approval Workflow
Select the checkbox next to it to allow multiuser approval.

 

Data Panel Settings

The Data Panel activates/deactivates additional fields on the Shape/Relationship Data form. Designer Global Settings - Data Panel

Fields Visibility

All fields are shown on the Shape/Relationship Data Form (CTRL+M), and on the Data Form on the right hand panel. The above mentioned editable fields are not part of the commit feature!

Show Notes

Activate to show Notes field. This field content will not be committed and is only available within the Diagram.

Show Expected dates

Activate the Expected dates option to show the Expected Start & Expected Stop dates for planning purposes.

Show Tooltip

Activate to show the Tooltip field.

Show Link

Activate to show the hyperlink to the form for committed elements & relationships.

Show SysID

Activate to show the SysID for committed elements & relationships.

Custom Fields (New with Designer V5.2)

The Designer Diagram Form contains pre-defined fields you can't change. To add custom fields to the Diagrams Form view, follow these instructions:

  1. Go to the Dictionary in ServiceNow and add the required fields to x_inpgh_des_diagrams table.
  2. Refresh the Designer tab. Go to Global Settings > Custom Fields and switch on the added custom fields on the form.
  3. Next time you open a Designer Diagram Form, it will show the custom fields on the form. 

Designer Global Settings - Custom Fields

Custom Buttons (New with Designer V5.2)

Custom buttons are providing a quick way to add buttons (UI actions) to the Designer Form view, which can trigger a value change to initiate additional logic e.g. triggering a business rule, or a workflow. 

Designer Global Settings - Custom Buttons

Click the Add New Button to create new button.

Button Layout

You can change the background color and font color.

Visible if user has role

Select the role the user needs to have to see the button. This can be combined with the 

Visible if User member of group

Select the group membership the user needs to have to see the button. This can be combined with the previous role selection. 

Visible if Diagram field

Select the field and value when the button is visible. 

Click action

Select the field and target value the button click action should perform. 

Only Choice fields are supported for the different field types. 

Create multiple buttons reflecting the different state changes you require for the different users if required.